Students at St Ambrose are offered a rich curriculum with opportunities to excel in all areas. Schooling in NSW is based on the mandatory NSW syllabuses for students from Kindergarten to Year 12. The syllabuses are developed and endorsed by News South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA).

St Ambrose follows the approved syllabuses with the exception of Religious Education, which is approved by the Bishop of Lismore. Physical Education and Creative Arts are taught by specialists teachers.

Subjects are called Key Learning Areas (KLAs). They are:

  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • English
  • Human Society and its Environments (History and Geography)
  • Personal Development Health and Physical Education
  • Creative Arts (Music, Dance, Drama and Visual Arts)
  • Religious Education

As a Catholic school, Religious Education is both a Key Learning Area and integral to our way of life. All students participate in the Catholic Religious Education Program and an acknowledged willingness to commit to this mission and the ethos of a Catholic primary school is essential. At St Ambrose, students have a specialist teacher for Physical Education, Music, Visual Arts, Dance/Drama. These lessons occur weekly.

You can visit the NESA website for more information on the NSW syllabuses.

St Ambrose provides students with a safe and supportive learning environment with innovative learning experiences. We foster within each student the ability to grow and develop the skills necessary to adapt to an ever-changing world underpinned by the Catholic ethos of leadership, responsibility, duty and dignity towards others.